facebook pixel
skip to main content

Natural Sciences

The Harvey and Bernice Jones Science Center is one of the finest facilities in the region and is home to the J.D. Patterson School of Natural Sciences at Ouachita. The School of Natural Sciences consists of the Departments of Biological Sciences (including Biology, Communication Sciences and Dietetics), Chemistry and Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science. Our mission is to promote student learning in an atmosphere that nurtures critical and creative thinking, an appreciation of the beauty and complexity of natural systems, the development of ethical codes in striving for moral excellence, the ability to communicate effectively in speaking and writing, and an understanding of the importance of service and leadership. These opportunities are provided through a variety of courses within the sciences as well as mentored research opportunities. The School provides curricula necessary for students to prepare for teaching, research as well as graduate and professional school – all within the liberal arts tradition.

We invite you to visit campus and talk with our students and faculty. We’re confident you’ll find that the Patterson School of Natural Sciences is the right place for you to reach your educational goals.

Next Steps



Ouachita Baptist University's website uses cookies to improve user experience, analyze site usage and aid in student recruitment. To learn more, read Ouachita's privacy policy.

I understand